Six Buckeyes Named to 2018 All-Conference Teams; Wilson named MVP

There are fourteen spots in the All-Conference teams, and the Buckeyes claimed six of them in the Great Lakes division for the 2018 season. Sophomore Drew Wilson claimed the Most Valuable Player award for the Great Lakes division.

Along with his MVP award, Wilson was named 1st Team All-Conference for the second straight season. Joining him on the 1st Team is senior Ryan Shepard, senior Youssef Azzazy, and junior captain Alex Puthoff. This is Shepard’s third selection to an All-Conference team (1st team & MVP in 2017, 2nd team in 2016), Puthoff’s second (1st team in 2017), and Azzazy’s first selection.

On 2nd Team is senior Nick Hallett and junior Rob DiSalle. This is the first selection to an All-Conference team for both of them.

The Buckeyes won their fourth Great Lakes division championship and finished 7th at the Collegiate Club National Championship in Tucson, AZ.

All-Conference Awards Announced; 5 Buckeyes Honored

COLUMBUS – All-Conference selections were announced for the 2017 season and five Buckeyes were awarded with selections.

Coach James Dauphinee was awarded 2017 Coach of the Year for the Great Lakes division, his fourth time earning the award. Since the Buckeyes joined the Great Lakes division in 2011, Coach James has compiled a 58-15 record in CWPA play, led the team to three conference championships (2013, 2014, and 2017), and had three successful trips to the Collegiate Club National Championship: 11th in 2013, 5th in 2014, and 6th in 2017. Under his tutelage, there have been 7 All-Americans, 11 first team All-Conference selections, 9 second team, and two conference MVPs.

Ryan Shepard was named MVP of the Great Lakes division for 2017 season. Along with the award, he was also 1st team All-Conference. The senior out of Mission Viejo, CA led the Buckeyes to an undefeated season in the conference, allowing an average of just 4 goals per game. At the Collegiate Club National Championship, Shepard helped the team to a 6th place finish where he averaged 13 blocks per game. In 2016, Shepard earned second team All-Conference.

Freshman Drew Wilson and sophomore Alex Puthoff were named 1st team All-Conference selections while sophomore Jake Good was named 2nd team for the 2017 season. Earning the team's first championship since 2014, Wilson, Puthoff, and Good led an offense that averaged almost 11 goals per game. At the Collegiate Club National Championship, Puthoff scored 4 goals and Wilson scored to 2 goals in the Buckeyes' 6th place finish.

Buckeyes Abound in All-Conference Awards

Four Buckeyes were honored with All-Conference Awards for the 2013 season, more than any other team, and head coach James Dauphinee also earned Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year.

Ben McClurg and Orion Swanson both earned First Team All-Great Lakes Division, while Jon Gruseck and Michael Smith earned Second Team.

The Buckeyes won the Great Lakes division for the first time in 2013, finishing 7-1 in division play and earning a bid to the Collegiate Club National Championship at the University of California - San Diego where they finished 11th in the nation.

Official release can be found here.